Wedding DIY – Votives – DIY REVIEW!

For any of you who don’t know, I am getting married in 2 ish months. About 10 months ago, I started all my DIY projects for my wedding and quickly realized how overwhelming it is to DIY decor, bouquets, invites, Save the Date’s, etc. So, like any normal red-blooded American woman, I searched for many ideas on Pinterest to narrow my likes and to see what I could feasibly do while going to post-grad school and working.

I will be writing about each of my DIY projects on this blog and offering tips of what not to do versus what worked for me and my budget.

The theme of my wedding is traditional elegance, or as my fiance likes to say, “it’s a wedding themed wedding”. I knew I always wanted either a fall or winter wedding, so because we chose winter, I knew I wanted a navy/midnight blue color to be my dominant one. It’s classic and most everyone looks good in it. My accent colors are ivory and gold. Simple, elegant and wintery. One aspect of my wedding that I love is my use of candles throughout both the ceremony and the reception. So what better to decorate than candle votives!

First review goes to glitter rimmed votive candles. I found these beauties on this blog Crafts Unleashed. I knew that I wanted some glittery votives and some that were a little more…masculine. So I ordered 72 votives on Amazon.com (I have Prime). And then I made these with a good friend of mine:

photo

Materials: 

  • Votives (glass)
  • Ribbon of your color choice (3/8″ satin navy blue shown)
  • Modge Podge
  • Decal or Sticker of your choice (I bought these in the wedding aisle at Michael’s)
  • Paintbrush for Modge Podge

After about 24 of these votives (very time consuming, but my own design), I decided I wanted something a little girly, but something that would be easy to complete. Enter glittery rimmed votives! What I ended up doing was mixing a gold glitter with a white glitter. It took less than an hour to glitter rim all these votives and right before I transport them to my florist to set up around my centerpieces, I plan on taking them outside and dusting them off a bit.

The only issue would be uniformity of glue on each votive and lots of excess glitter that seemingly sticks to anything due to static electricity. So, be mindful of that.

Here are my completed votives:

photo 1 (4)

photo 2 (3)

You can find a complete material list on Crafts Unleashed. You better believe I used Modge Podge for these guys!

I give these beauties 4 out of 5 stars overall, mostly because the excess glitter is difficult to remove. I’ll have to post a fully completed pic with the votives on my tables.

Leave a Reply

